Tomatoes, tomatoes, tomatoes!


Tomatoes, tomatoes, tomatoes!

We got another half of a foot or so of snow last night. Today is deceptively sunny and clear, very cold (as in lower single digits) . Tomorrow is supposed to be even colder. Next week is forecasted to be in the thirties. That will feel like spring by comparison. I hope to get into the beds after a few days of that.

I ordered some paste tomatoes yesterday from a website called tomatofest.com. Has anybody had dealings with this site before? I ordered these varieties:

San Marzano
Aker’s Plum
Amish Paste
Aunt Lucy’s Italian Paste
Principe Borghese

I would appreciate any comments about these varieties. I am trying to find those that produce heavy crops of firm, small to medium sized Roma-type tomatoes for making sauce. This site had pages of paste tomatoes, some heirloom, some not. I have seen some of them on other heirloom seed seller sites.

I use a lot of spaghetti and tomato sauce. Last summer, all I canned was spaghetti sauce. I hope to expand my repertoire next summer, especially since I can freeze tomatoes by themselves first.

Can anyone recommend a really tasty and prolific heirloom melon? My favorite hybrid is Ambrosia, which lives up to the name.

Happy gardening!

Lark

~ by suscrofa on January 7, 2010.

One Response to “Tomatoes, tomatoes, tomatoes!”

  1. Hi Lark

    You will be pleased with Principe Borghese. The plants bear abundantly, and tho small, the fruit is wonderfully flavored.
    Known for drying, Princepe is also a winner for salsa and paste.
    It a good mixer as well, adding complexity to sauces and pastes made with yellow and orange paste tomatoes such as Roughwood Gold or Orange Roma.

    Lillian

Leave a comment